onthemmmove Travel Editon: My New Favourite Getaway: Naples, Florida

Nothing Beats Florida Palms!

Nothing Beats Florida Palms!

Back in November I had the rare opportunity to travel spouseless and childless to Naples Florida with my lovely mother, alone! Coming from a family of 4 siblings and being a momma in the thick of raising a 4 and 6 year old this was like a dream come true!

View of the Pool

View of the Pool

I actually got to leave for 5 days! I repeat 5 days! I know, I know, INSANITY! Thankfully, my children were left behind for a nice visit from my in-laws who were kind enough to come and help out with the kids!

So, long story short my experience in Naples was nothing short of AMAZING. For those that are looking for a warm getaway with plenty to do, I highly recommend checking it out. Here’s a few gems/tips I found out along the way that I thought I’d share:

Cheap Flight Realness: Depending on where you are willing to/can fly out of flights can be insanely reasonably priced. I flew Spirit Airlines out of Detroit – a direct flight to Fort Myers (which is about a 30 min drive from Naples) at only $260 return. Depending on what airport you are willing to fly out of, and if you are open to a basic flight with no bells and whistles deals are waiting to be had.

En-Route To Naples

En-Route To Naples

White Sand Beaches: I was completely blown away by the awesome beaches in Naples. They definitely rival anything I’ve experienced in Mexico and other travels. I was fortunate enough to have access to a private beach through my parent’s condo complex, however we ventured out to the public beach one evening and it was just as nice.

Enjoying the beach in Naples

Enjoying the beach in Naples

Mom taking a dip in the warm ocean

Mom taking a dip in the warm ocean

Tons of Yum: There are so many great dining options that my mother and I quickly created a rule. NO COOKING aloud. We literally went out to dinner every night – and with no shortage of fantastic restaurants this was very easy to do. Some of my favourites included:

  • Gumbo Limbo (at the Ritz Carlton) @ Sunset– We met friends here who were also vacationing in Naples at the time for appies & drinks. It is well-known for its spectacular sunset views, and traditionally there is a large bell that is rung at sunset. Hands down I had the best mojito of my life here and I can hardly wait to go back!
Sunset Drinks @ Gumbo Limbo @ The Ritz Carlton

Sunset Drinks @ Gumbo Limbo @ The Ritz Carlton

  • USS Nemo – This was our last, and one of my favourite dinners. The food was absolutely to die for. I had the sea bass which was like butter, and the service was fantastic! The seating is tight and the resto is full so be prepared to share in conversation with your dining neighbor!
Dinner at USS Nemo

Dinner at USS Nemo

  • The Dock Restaurant Naples – This was our first stop for beverages and dinner when we first arrived. We had a fantastic table looking right out over the dock/water and had a perfect margarita paired with some great oysters!
Margaritas & Oysters At The Dock!

Margaritas & Oysters At The Dock!

The Dock Oysters - TDF

The Dock Oysters – TDF

Ussie At The Dock

Ussie At The Dock

  • Tommy Bahama – You can drink, eat and shop! One evening (post Gumbo Limbo drinks and half-intoxicated) we found ourselves in Old Naples at the Tommy Bahama store which is attached to the Tommy Bahama restaurant/bar. Although I am not usually a fan of shopping on holiday I proceeded to purchase a fab fedora, and a cute LBD (Little Black Dress) which I’ve already proceeded to rock at X-Mas parties. Post-shopping we headed into the restaurant area where we were treated to a one-man band live music, and some yummy apps & bevies.
Enjoying the band and bevvies at Tommy Bahama Resto & Bar

Enjoying the band and bevvies at Tommy Bahama Resto & Bar

Drunken Fedora Purchase from Tommy Bahama

Drunken Fedora Purchase from Tommy Bahama

  • Three60 Market – This market/café is located right down the street from where we stayed and has quickly become a family favourite. Fun fact: The owners are Canadian!!! (CANADA REPRESENTIN’ IN NAPLES!). We picked up gourmet deli-styled food here to eat at home, and we went back for brunch another morning. Every time the food was great. The view sitting out on the patio onto the channel lined with boats was spectacular, and we were even treated to some manatees swimming by during our breakkie! They also have a wine store within the market, and I was able to pick up a few bags of homemade key-lime cookies to bring home which the kids are still talking about! Can’t wait to get back here!
Patio Brunch at 360

Patio Brunch at 360

There was so much more that Naples has to offer, and with just 5 days I feel like I barely scratched the surface! So, I’ve created a light at the end of my dreary winter tunnel and I’m going back in May. This time with the kiddos and husband, Spirit flights are booked and the countdown is ON!!!

Naples Calling....

Naples Calling….

One thought on “onthemmmove Travel Editon: My New Favourite Getaway: Naples, Florida

Leave a comment