Dinner At On The Lam

One of the great things about moving around is how special it is to visit my hometown, Brantford Ontario when I get a chance. I just love being able to go back and visit family and friends. With moving around frequently this can prove to be more challenging and often you feel like you are missing out on valuable time spent with loved ones.

That’s why I have made a promise to myself. When I am visiting with family and friends whether they come to me, or I return back home to visit them to try my best to make our time special and meaningful, often that can mean simply getting together over a glass of wine at my parents place or arranging a play date at a friends house, or dinner out with family & friends, that’s what recently led me to On The Lam.(www.onthelamrestaurant.com) (aka OTL)

ImageImage

Leading up to booking a dinner out at OTL with my younger sister and mother I heard a lot of great things about OTL and I was dying to try it! Needless to say I was not disappointed and while in town I even got the chance to sit down with owners Scott & Grant to learn a little bit more about the restaurant.

Image

Owners Grant Schuman & Scott Stewart

Both Scott & Grant were born and raised in Brantford, Ontario they chose the location for the restaurant (formerly West 111) due to it’s unique architecture, accessibility, small manageable size and the ambiance.

Scott & Grant met in high school and have been friends ever since. Scott, Chef at OTL with over 10 years of industry experience is passionate about cooking and that absolutely shines through in everything he prepares. The presentation is unique, but more than that the food is AWESOME! According to Grant they serve up “The best steak you’ll ever eat.” I couldn’t agree more.

Image

Steak Sous Vide – TDF!

A very well-traveled Grant was our server when we visited OTL. He was sweet, attentive, and right on the mark in all of the recommendations he made. He even totally twisted our arms into ordering dessert (yeah right!) and thank goodness he did. TDF!!!

When I asked Scott about his favourite dish at OTL he recommended the fresh scallops. I also had the pleasure of trying the scallops at my family meal and they were also amazing, and don’t even get me started on the Oysters – Awesomesauce with a capital A! Not only is the food good but so are the cocktails. So good in fact, that my mom, sister and I ordered two rounds along with a great bottle of wine with dinner.

Image

Image

Scallops & Oysters TDF!

When I asked the boys what song would best describe OTL they chose Let the Good Times Roll (Harry Nilsson version). http://youtu.be/bh1gNfvGbVI. Let me tell you after two Prosecco Cocktails and a glass (or two) of Bogle Pinot Noir wine the good times were rolling!

Image

The only thing better than the food at OTL was the company! I enjoyed an amazing dinner out with my sister and mom right in my very own hometown of Brantford, a big thanks to Scott & Grant for opening a 5 star restaurant in the City and continuing to follow their dreams!  I can’t wait to visit again when I am back in town!

Image

AWESOMESAUCE ALERT: The Puffed Potatoes….still dreaming of them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dinner At On The Lam

  1. I grew up on a small farm in southern Saskatchewan, and i know what a good steak is. The steak i had at OTL was the best steak i’ve had in almost 30 years, since leaving the farm. all of our cattle where raised without steroids or un-natural foods, they had oats, hay, and water, and that was all.
    Todd

Leave a comment